Anti-Crisis and Anti-Suicide Mobile App

So while I was in the psych unit I came across other individuals dealing with mental health or substance abuse crises (quite obviously) and this thought just popped into my head about a very specific mobile app for these purposes.

I don’t wanna say too much about it because someone will totally go and steal my idea (someone with money to develop it, obviously) but I just wanted to put it out there to find out IF you guys thought it would be a good idea to even try find funding and money to get this project started.

It’s very specific for mobile devices, an app that’s meant to ground the user in a time of crisis, and I’d love to work with mental health and substance abuse professionals to make it applicable to any situation where a user wants to not do the negative act (be it alcohol, cigarettes, drugs, suicide) and needs to ask for help without asking for help as such, and stay grounded.

I OBVIOUSLY know absolutely nothing about developing a mobile app, have no money, BUT my very specific idea is really cool, and I wish it had existed when I was in crisis and ended up on a mental health ward..I think it would have helped me, which is why I think it might help others too if enough thought and development is put into it.

So I am asking for help here, A) do you think you would use an app in crisis? B) Do you know anything at all about the process of developing an app? (development, design, UI design, marketing, website development, etc) C) Are you a psychiatrist, therapist, psychologist, substance abuse professional, social worker, mental health professional, a student, medical student etc., and would like to get involved? Offer thoughts on it from a medical point of view?

Thanks so much everyone! If I wasn’t this depressed and hopeless about the future, I would have already started applying for grants, registered an LLC and created a Kickstarter crowdfunding page, but I’m not quite there yet.

PS I swear it’s a good idea. I have run it by a few people who’ve been affected by the abovementioned issues, and they thought it was a great idea! I have  a CTO (my hubby hahaha) and someone over in Germany who knows about intellectual property and doesn’t think anything like this has been done before!

 

Leave a Reply

