Justin Bieber’s mom open up

I am sad for her, but somehow elated at the same time that Pattie Mallette, Justin Bieber’s mom, has come out as a survivor of childhood sexual abuse.

I keep saying over and over that this should not happen to anyone, but it is amazing that someone in the limelight who has endured abuse opens up about it; this bring the world’s attention to the issue and makes it easier for the rest of us to be maybe a bit more open, but also get some sympathy and understanding from the rest of the world.

In her new book, she is quoted saying: ‘I’ve learned it’s normal for anybody who’s been through sexual abuse to carry that shame and blame and feel like there’s something wrong with you. I definitely carried that.’

I personally have felt like there is something seriously wrong with me my whole life, but it wasn’t until May 2006 when I had my first flashback that I realized why I had been so…miserable and unhappy my whole life.

I am still trying to piece the story together as I have no real memories of my childhood, but reading the Daily Mail story about Ms Mallette and her abuse made me realize that although she has always remembered her abuse, it hasn’t made it any easier for her to live a normal life.

She suffered immensely from the effects of the abuse and so I feel somehow soothed in my soul that it is okay to struggle; abuse kills a part of you and so you can’t possibly “be like everyone else” when you have had those experiences. So yeah, I am hurt and angry and pissed off and bitter and struggle a LOT in life with personal relationships with people and with myself, but it’s okay, it’s more like a symptom than a disease itself.

A symptom of sickening injustice, something that I didn’t even choose to be thrust upon myself.

I hope that the public is moved by her story and that by reading her words people become more aware of child abuse and also of the effects that us as adult women have because of something that happened a long time ago. I don’t want pity, I just want sympathy. I think my ultimate gift from the world would be kind words from someone, anyone, saying you know what, you did well. Just to have survived is a miracle, but I’d never want to ask for that as it’s kind of like begging for pity and I don’t do that. But one day if someone says girl, you’re okay, you’re here, I’ll smile like I’ve never ever smiled before.

xxxxxx Little Girl In The Rain xxxxxx

Have a very blessed day!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

