I’m still here. After the cigarette break!

I am addicted. To a lot of things; cigarettes and smoking, getting drunk in certain situations, sugar, sleeping, unhealthy food, coffee, being admired and liked.

Another semi-sleepless night later I’m at my desk at work. I have to pretend everything is okay and smile at people but all I can think of is jumping up, and running screaming straight through the window. The flight down from 4th floor would bring peace into my mind.

I can’t do it. I don’t like pain, well not always. Sometimes I do. I like the pain that you get when you burn your skin just ever so slightly with a cigarette. I like the pain that a piece of broken glass brings when you slide it down the arm. I like seeing  the blood drip down, stain my skin. I liked trying to walk on my broken foot, imagining the bones get even more separated and thus prolonging my misery; a misery I liked wallowing in.

I am in a bad place and I fear there is no way out. I am wearing this mark that says I’m okay when I really am not, but I can’t let the world know.

Work is so … pointless. Why am I here? I just want to be in my bed, curled up in the blankets, staring out my window into the sky and watching the birds fly past. I want to be a bird, fly far away into the sky and chase the last rays of sunshine in the evenings.

But I’m here. for now. as me. and there is absolutely nothing I can do about it, so I might as well try as hard as I can to stay present. I count minutes until my rest, and until then, I shall remain seated on this chair, doing this shit.

Remain seated until I find me a cigarette. Hey, what is one addiction when I have conquered so many other things? The abuse didn’t kill me, neither did anorexia or bulimia. What is one more cigarette going to do to me????

Have a blessed day xx

 

One thought on “I’m still here. After the cigarette break!

  1. I am only writing to make you understand of the helpful encounter my friend’s daughter had reading through your web site. She came to understand lots of issues, most notably what it’s like to have an amazing helping heart to make the mediocre ones just know precisely some complex subject matter. You undoubtedly exceeded our desires. Thanks for providing those beneficial, safe, educational and unique guidance on your topic.

Leave a Reply

