Resources for You

When you are a survivor of any kind of abuse, it is extremely terrifying and hard to seek help.

A lot of us continue living with memories, illness (be it mental or physical), problems and abuse-related behavior patterns throughout our lives, and it breaks my heart to know that so many will never get any help.

As I am not a professional counselor, I can’t slip in my phone number and say call me, but I can however make it a little bit easier for people to at least get to resources where they can get help – even if it is reading about abuse or how to heal.

**As I am a survivor of childhood sexual abuse by a father, it comes to me naturally to talk about this kind of abuse. However, I try to be inclusive and list other stuff too**

In many countries, there are specific non-profit organizations that are dedicated to the cause – as I live in Britain I have listed a few here that have offered me information, resources, and information on how to find therapy.

Rape and Sexual Abuse Support Centre in the UK – good general stuff and links to other services.

The National Association for People Abused in Childhood – NAPAC, is another very good resource to get started with.

Amazon have a good selection of “self-help” books as well as non-fiction- I have always ordered all my reading online as it is more anonymous than walking to a book store!

On facebook there is tons of groups, societies and pages dedicated to the topic. Just search for them on using the Search button – I found this quite interesting:  Surviving Sexual Abuse in the Caribbean

There are a few smaller local organizations; Aurora Health Foundation, located in south-west London, and One in Four, located in south London.

If you have any suggestions, please add them below in comments! Knowledge is Power!

 

With much love,

LittleGirl

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

